Fighting, ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis) Gluten-Free Diet

10407725_10152200060541160_2640392919870464355_n

 

Soon after being diagnosed with ALS, my wife began to read and she read, I read but, it would depress me so that I stopped reading about ALS.  Now, I’m doing something about it.  Its not only about losing weight but eating better and cutting out the foods which could contribute to your illness.  I have lost over 35 pounds in 8 months just by switching to a gluten – free diet.  Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and any foods made with these grains.  Avoiding wheat can be especially hard because this means you should avoid all wheat-based flours and ingredients.  These include but are not limited to:

  • White Flour
  • Whole Wheat Flour
  • Durum Wheat ( a kind of hard wheat grown in arid regions, having bearded ears and yielding flour that is used to make pasta)
  • Graham Flour ( denoting unbolted wholewheat flour, made from this) graham crackers
  • Triticale ( a hybrid grain produced by crossing wheat and rye, grown as a fodder crop)
  • Kamut
  • Semolina (the hard grains left after the milking of flour, used in puddings and in pasta)
  • Spelt ( an old kind of wheat with bearded ears and spikelets that each contain two narrow grains)
  • Wheat Germ ( the embryo in a cereal grain or other plant seed)
  • Wheat Bran ( pieces of grain husk separated from flour after milling)

These are foods that are usually made with wheat include:

  • Pasta
  • Couscous ( a type of North African semolina in granules made from crushed durum wheat)
  • Bread
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Cookies
  • Cakes
  • Muffins
  • Pastries
  • Cereal
  • Crackers
  • Beer (witch in include wheat barley)
  • Oats
  • Gravy
  • Dressings
  • Sauces

You made be thinking, what will I eat.  But there are still plenty of gluten-free foods out there.  Here are your choices from many fresh, healthy foods like fruits, vegetables, beans, dairy, nuts lots of nuts, and gluten-free grains like quinoa or rice.  So don’t get discourage there are lots of foods mention that are gluten-free.

More food you would not suspect to have Gluten:

  • Broth in soups and bouillon cubes
  • Breadcrumbs and croutons
  • Some candies ( limit sweets)
  • Fried foods
  • Imitation fish
  • Some lunch meats and hot dogs
  • Malt
  • Matzo
  • Modified food starch
  • Seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods
  • salad dressings
  • self-basting turkey
  • soy sauce
  • seasoned rice and pasta mixes

So there you have it, many additives and ingredients in packaged foods that may contain gluten.  Alway check  labels before making any purchase.  For a more comprehensive list of gluten containing additives, search CELIAC DISEASE or google.  Causes and effects from gluten.

Please click on this link:

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s